Knowledge Base

Follow

StudioLive AI Mixer Firmware Recovery - Factory Reset

 

 

Please take a moment to understand the Firmware Recovery process and read all instructions carefully before continuing.

 

A Firmware Recovery is a method of both updating the mixer's firmware and/or doing a factory reset of the mixer. If you are experiencing any strange behavior or problems with your mixer, a  Firmware Recovery may be necessary to correct the issue. If you need to reset your mixer to factory defaults for any reason, a Firmware Recovery is the method you would use to do this.

NOTE: The Firmware Recovery is a complete re-flash of the mixer firmware, restoring the mixer to its factory default state. It will completely remove any user created scenes or presets, as well as any network information or other settings stored on the mixer, and rewrite all factory presets.

***************************************

 

If you need to save your user created scenes and presets from your StudioLive Ai mixer, please follow this link below:

StudioLive AI Scene Preset Backup and Transfer (VSL software)

StudioLive AI UC Surface Scene Save (UC Surface 1.3 and above)

 

Please note: if doing a mixer Backup from the Settings Menu of UC Surface, it will only backup your saved Named Scenes, Quick Scenes, Mute Groups, and Fat Channel, FX, and GEQ presets. It does NOT store the current settings of the mixer. You must first save this as a Scene to the internal Scene Memory of the mixer so that a Backup will capture that information.

 

***************************************

 

It is highly recommended that when doing firmware updates or the Firmware Recovery process that you use a Sandisk Cruzer Series USB flash drive as mentioned in the following knowledge base article.  Some flash drives will not work correctly for Firmware Update and/or Firmware Recovery:

SanDisk Cruzer USB Flash Drive Compatibility with StudioLive AI

 

***************************************

 

Firmware Recovery Process

 

 

Please be sure to review all instructions before performing a Firmware Recovery on your StudioLive-AI  Console mixer.

 

1. Download the firmware files for your mixer.

NOTE: You must first register your mixer to your my.presonus account in order to access the firmware downloads. The firmware files can be found on the "View More Details" link for your StudioLive AI mixer when you log into your Presonus User Account.

Firmware files.JPG

 

 

2. Open your downloads folder and locate the StudioLive-AI firmware download. The folder will be named with your mixer’s model number and the new firmware version (e.g., SL3242AI_v4733). Depending on your system preferences, the firmware folder may not automatically uncompress from the .zip file. To expand it, simply double-click it.

 

 zipped-fimrware.jpg   

 

Click-on-Downloads.jpg 

 

 

3. Open the firmware folder; you will find five files inside. You will need all five files to upgrade your mixer:

recovery-files.jpg 

 

4. Connect a FAT32-formatted USB thumb drive to your computer. 

Power User Tip: Most small USB drives (16 GB or less) are already formatted correctly, so formatting may not be required, but if your mixer does not detect your thumb drive, we recommend doing a fresh format of the drive. Also, it is important that you use a drive no smaller than 1 GB and no larger than 32 GB in size. When in doubt, it's a good idea to go ahead and re-format your thumb drive as FAT32. On Windows, be sure to do a "Full" format as opposed to a "Quick" format. On Macs, the choice will be listed as MS-DOS (FAT)

USB_Drive_Illustration_9-17-13.jpg

 

 

NOTE to Mac Users - If your Mac is running OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later, you will need to make sure to adhere to the following extra step in order to format a USB drive for loading firmware on your mixer (Users with Mac running OS X versions earlier than 10.11 can skip to Step 6):

 

Leave name set to "Untitled" & set Format to "MS-DOS (FAT)"

diskutil1.png  

 

Change Scheme type to "Master Boot Record"

 

diskutil2.png

 

After verifying your settings look like the screenshot below, click "Erase"

 

diskutil3.png

Once the format is complete, move on to Step 5...

 

 

5. Select all five firmware files and either copy/paste or drag them to the root of your thumb drive. Eject your drive and disconnect it from your computer.

 

drag-files-to-drive.jpg

 

 

6. Turn off your StudioLive mixer.  IMPORTANT:  There will be a small pop on the outputs when the mixer boots after a firmware upgrade. Be sure to either disconnect the outputs of the mixer from any live amps and speakers, or power off the amps and speakers in addition to the mixer.

 

Turn-Power-Off.jpg

 

7. Next, take a Philips head screwdriver and on the back of the StudioLive mixer, loosen the screws securing the option card. Pull the option card out an inch or two so that it is no longer seated in its internal slot.

 

sl32ai_option-card.jpg

 

 

8. Remove the Wi-Fi LAN adapter (if connected). Plug the USB Flash drive into the USB port at the top of the mixer.

 

Remove-WiFi.jpg            

Connect-USB-drive.jpg

 

9. Power your mixer on and it will start the Firmware Recovery process, displaying the message "Restoring Firmware". Do not power your mixer off until instructed to do so. NOTE:  This process should take about 10 minutes to complete.  Once completed you will get a message stating:  "Power off your mixer, insert the option card, and power the mixer back on."

 

Restoring_Firmware.jpg

 

10. Follow the directions, power off the mixer and re-insert the option card firmly to make sure it is seated. Re-tighten the thumb screws to secure the option card.

 

 

11. Remove the thumb drive. You can also insert your USB WiFi adapter (if you need to connect wirelessly to your router) 

Remove-thumb-drive.jpg          

Connect-wifi.jpg

 

 

12. Power your mixer back on. Note: Be sure that your speakers are powered off or disconnected, as there will be a small pop when the mixer reboots.

 

13. It will take a minute or so for the mixer to complete the update. You may see a message on the screen about “Updating Control Surface”. Once the process is complete, your mixer will finish the normal boot process and be ready for use again.

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
44 out of 44 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk